Learner Support Center

Accessibility Standards

Last Updated: Feb 25, 2016 11:09AM EST

Shadow Health follows the prevailing standard for web accessibility, the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG). The specific standard we follow is WCAG 2.0, Level AA. For more information, see;http://www.w3.org/TR/WCAG20/.


WCAG is more strident and comprehensive than the U.S. Government requirements for software accessibility, which are referred to as the “Section 508” standards. That is to say, in pursuing the WCAG standards, we also meet the “Section 508” standards.


To summarize accessibility in our product, we employ the following techniques wherever possible:

  • Users can attempt assignments as many times as they wish and assignments are self-paced
  • Content is presented both visually and auditorily (video captioning and hidden text for images, for example)
  • Content is provided in a way that can be read by assistive technologies (screen readers and braille displays, for example)
  • Keyboard controls are implemented so that other types of assistive input devices can be used

We're very interesting in maintaining a high level of product accessibility and want to make sure our product remains as accessible as possible. Because WCAG is guideline-based, not rule-based, maintaining accessibility is an ongoing process. Attached to this article is a pdf that lists our Summary of A & AA Rules for the Digital Clinical Experience.


If you have specific questions or feedback about the accessibility of our product, please contact the Support Team.

Contact Us

  • Advanced Technical Support Hours
    Mon - Fri 9:00 A.M. - 9:00 P.M. ET
    Sat - Sun 12:00 P.M. - 9:00 P.M ET

    Call Us
    Toll Free: 800.860.3241
  • Email us!
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
Invalid characters found